Simple Truths

ImageIn a few days I will celebrate another birthday, putting me solidly past the half-century mark. I share this only as evidence that I have lived long enough to learn a few simple, yet elegant truths.  Much of this knowledge was culled from the many wise people I’ve been blessed to meet in my time.  But most of it came from my own experience,  including bone-head mistakes, dumb-ass choices and failed actions taken in arrogance, naivete, stupidity, impatience, or some combination thereof. This is what I know:

  • Do what you love, and you will find a way to make a living from it.
  • When the way is blocked, there’s always another path.  You just might have to hunt through the weeds to find it.
  • Nothing is as soothing or joyful as holding a baby…unless the baby is screaming.
  • Sunrise makes everything feel better, especially after a long difficult night.
  • Remember to get your daily dose of Vitamin L — laughter. If you laugh at yourself, consider that a double dose.
  • When you point a finger in blame, three fingers point back at you.
  • A beautiful sunset is both a gift and a promise, no matter what your beliefs.
  • Do something that scares you every day.
  • Fruits and vegetables from your own garden always taste better.
  • Pay attention to your gut, heed that niggling voice in the back of your mind. Except if you’re schizophrenic, then you should consider going back on your meds.
  • Your are stronger than you think. Way stronger.
  • When you have trouble deciding between two choices, flip a coin. If you feel the need to flip it again, you already have your answer.
  • Your kids will always be your beautiful babies, no matter how old, big, hairy, smelly or angsty they become.
  • We are all Bozos on the Bus.
  • It’s very difficult to eat soup with shaky hands.
  • Tell people you love them, and tell them why. Then tell them again.
  • Be a great partner…with your family, friends, coworkers, doctors, educators, etc. We’re all in this together.
  • Courtesy and respect leave deeper impressions than fancy clothes and hefty pedigrees.
  • Losing weight is simple — burn more calories than you consume. But it isn’t easy.
  • In your lifetime, you will do many stupid, selfish and foolish things in the name of love. But you will do even more great and generous things.
  • It’s never too late to say you’re sorry, or to say thank you.
  • Every person you meet — friend, friendly, foe or in between — has something to teach you.
  • Tequila shots almost always lead to bad hang-overs…and pregnancy.
  • Big dreams require thoughtful plans.
  • Everything happens for a reason. The challenge is to figure out why and become a better person because of it.
  • Texting is a lousy way to hold a conversation.
  • It’s impossible not to laugh along with a baby.
  • It all starts with the Golden Rule.
  • Even though they act like they aren’t, your kids really do listen to you.
  • The friends who are there for you when it really counts are often not the people you expected.
  • When in doubt, Stop. Breathe. Listen.

What are your Simple Truths?

10 thoughts on “Simple Truths

  1. Lori, some beautiful thoughts!
    This reminds me of two things about my Mom. I was thinking you didn’t know her but of course you did! When you were teaching me to drive stick we drove out to Barrington and saw her. I had totally forgotten about that until just this moment. I have a big smile on my face now 🙂
    My mom always used to say that love covers a multitude of sins. We all make mistakes but if we just keep loving those that we love, they will know it and hopefully those times when we either weren’t so loving or things did not go according to plan will not seem so memorable. Also, saying we are sorry and really meaning it helps too 🙂
    The very last thing that my Mom ever said to me was, I love you. While she was sick, I tried to end every time I was with her with those words. That one time I didn’t and as I was walking down the hall I heard her call out to me with those simple words that still mean the world to me. I want to leave that legacy for my family. I really try to tell each one of them that I love them every time I leave. One day it will be for the last time, but until them it makes them know today how much I care about them. Hopefully one day that thought will be as comforting to them as it has been to me.

  2. Go for a ride with your spouse “to be” and if they cut off people, don’t let them in after seeing a blinker, risk the red light and generally don’t care about the people in the other cars, don’t marry that person, because the divorce you are ssure to want later won’t go well.

    The fast lane is for drivers who need to have a car 4 feet in front of them no matter how fast you are going.

    Cable is a waste of money if you can’t sit still long enough to watch a comedy show 1/2 way through.

    The thermostat is always set too (high/low) once you look at it. Solution, don’t look at it.

    People look better as you get older.

    The person in the mirror is a lot older than he feels with one exception: getting into or out of sports cars is very difficult and should not be done with an audience.

    If you check your wallet after a night at the bar and there is a receipt in there you don’t think it is yours, it may be time to stop going to that bar – especially if you car is still in front of that bar after checking your wallet.

    The gas station you passed has the cheapest gas except for the one just after where you stopped to fill the tank.

    A car loan seems like a good idea until the first payment is due. After that it never seems like it was a good idea.

    Vowing to never have hair growing out of your ears like your grandfather did is not a good thing to make a vow against.

Leave a Reply

